April 21, 2011

  • Hoarding – Wedding Favors

    I love wedding favors as much as the next person. I’m touched by the effort the couple spends on picking out the favor they feel symbolizes them. Sometimes favors are whimsical, practical, edible, or charitable. I love them all. They’re fabulous, for the moment. A month, or a year or two later, the favors are sitting in a box collecting dust. Sadly, they have to go. I feel a touch of guilt, but at the end of it all, not really. I’ve been pretty good about favors- as a couple, JC and I only take one, even though we may be entitled to two. 

    The opposite are people who take more than they’re allocated. With us forfeiting our second favor, that gives the opportunity for others to pick it up. That’s fine. And I know that there are more people out there who don’t take favors with them at all. And those people contribute to the hoarders. At my wedding, we lost a box of favors- and at the end of the night, we only had 1 wedding favor. We had salt and pepper shakers in different colors, and I was a bit bummed that we didn’t have more. Later, upon visiting relatives, we found a stockpile of our wedding favors. They gave a few back, so we’d have some momentos of our wedding. 

    At another, we found a whole conga line of our favors in someone’s cabinet. Very cute! But makes me wonder- after a while, won’t that become clutter? And if you multiply it by the countless weddings that a person goes to, won’t that be a ridiculous pile of chopsticks, notepads, pillows, keychains… etc?

    I found a seashell in a drawer today. I have no idea where it came from. Anything I keep has to be worth something to me- and it breaks down to three factors: Sentimental, functional, or edible. No idea where it came from, so it’s not sentimental. It’s a seashell- so real functional value. And unless I come down with pica (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pica_(disorder), there’s no edible value.

    What do you do with your favors?

     

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *