April 6, 2011

  • Ruminate and react

    I’ve spent the last three or four days toggling between anger and stress. For a long time, I avoided talking to anyone about my emotional state- as I was still trying to determine if it was just hormonal residue of being a woman. Nope- thoughts and emotions still lingering… which means that there’s salt to this. I’ve putted about, and juggled work and family. I do an okay job, but my stress is an indicator that the secret sauce to happiness isn’t quite right. something is off… and real off. I pushed through the greater part of the day in a less than productive manner, as these pesky emotions were still tugging away at me. 

    I fought against calling a friend, since just venting to someone isn’t going to change matters. I wasn’t quite in the mood to air my dirty laundry- I guess privacy matters more when you’re older. I went for a walk, watched meaningless TV, ate junkfood, and adopted a new fitness program to elevate my mood. Although, adopt might be too strong of a word- since I haven’t done anything different with my schedule yet. So, day four-ish came the phonecall. I think i got the right person- I got a good plan of action out of the call, which now puts me in a much better mood.

    Sometimes you do need a friend to talk to.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *