Month: September 2011

  • Push Harder

    I'm working with a life coach. I'm not sure how I feel about it yet. The first session was great, the follow up is a bit different. At first I envisioned a life coach as someone who would help me keep on track for the tasks that I assign to myself. I wanted a little more accountability, a little cheer leader, and part therapist. I have a list of things that I want to get accomplished, that usually somehow disappears and is left undone. Sorta like that lone sock that never quite makes it into the hamper- or the wash- or ever back into the drawer. Yes, I think I have issues. I'm getting caught up in laundry metaphors. 

    This is not to say that I haven't done anything. I'm organizing two events solo, working on an event with my partner, picking up the pace work, and sorta packing things up to go back to Miami. But yet I feel the need to do more. Not sure to what end though, since I'm getting a little lost when I'm trying to figure out what exactly "More" means.

    Maybe I'm a workaholic? It might not be the goal that's important, but the constant state of action. Which does explain why sometimes I can end up in rockinghorse syndrome- a lot of energy exerted, and nothing to show for it. I of course know that i need to work smarter, and not just harder. I think I'm going to have to put more strategic thought in my master plan.