Month: September 2010

  • Happy Travels

    When I was in college, I imagined traveling for work to be glamorous. I envisioned well dressed pretty people jet setting around, solving the country's profound systematic problems. I'd have a super high tech lap top and a wardrobe that would've made Elle Woods squeal. I'd glide through the terminal corridors, with my luggage practically floating behind me. Hotels would have chocolates on the pillow, and meals would be spiced up with stories that tickle the funny bones of other seasoned work travelers. 

    Reality is not quite living up to that.

    As a woman, you've got to squeeze in the extra pair of shoes.

    I've been stuck in the Greater Rochester Airport for 3 hours. There is no way for me to get comfortable on these airport benches. No matter how much I twist, turn, and contort, it's going to be impossible for me to try to sneak in some much needed sleep. Not that the plane is much better. Unfortunately, first class is out of our corporate budgets for a while.

    I'm tired of going through the security checks at the airports... with the smallest airports exercising the most thorough screening. The inflated sense of duty is mixed with the local speed quotient resulting in a super slow work rate. Yes, that's my driver's license, and my boarding pass, and I look like the picture in the license, and the name on the license matches the boarding pass. All good? Molasses Mo just wasted 20 minutes of my time because he doesn't know how to speed up the process. This is the only time I'd like invoke racial profiling, easy for a young asian chic to say.

    Then it's the ridiculous ordeal of taking off the shoes, jacket, laptop, toiletries, etc. Seriously? Shoe bombs? That's sooooo 2001! Like I'm really going to be able to get any combustion going with my flip flops. And I can't bring liquids through? That squarely benefits the vendors selling Poland Spring for a three thousand percent markup. I go to Costco- I know how much that shit costs. 

    Charging for carry ons? Yeah, that means people have overstuffed bags plus a few extra personal items that they try to squeeze into the overhead. Carry-on, Laptop bag, book bag, purse, shopping bag, straw hat... ? Come on! Where the heck do you really think you'll fit your crap? (Parents traveling with small children are excluded... those folks need all the tricks they can fit in their bag to keep their kids quiet) 

    As I write this, the bar is closing down- only food available for purchase in this whole place is reduced to a few bags of chips, two salads, and a sandwich. I'm far from being a food snob, but I do have some standards for sustenance. I'm better off letting this beer mingle undisturbed in my empty stomach than have it mingle with some wilty salad and grossly ill refrigerated sandwich.

    It's somewhat sad that my return to the blogosphere is inspired by the rants of airline travel. Maybe it's the subversive way to discourage air travel in efforts to reduce everyone's carbon footprint. Eh, if only the evil system were so progressive. 

    Oh man, the bartender hands me my bill, and all I hear is the sound of everyone's corporate card slapped down on the counter with a tinge of defeat. Those surrounding the bar are all equally annoyed to still be here. Probably more annoyed that the bar is closing down.

  • 11 things you did not learn in school...

    Rule 1: Life is not fair - get used to it! 

    Rule 2: The world doesn't care about your self-esteem. The world will expect you to accomplish something BEFORE you feel good about yourself. 

    Rule 3: You will NOT make $60,000 a year right out of high school. You won't be a vice-president with a car phone until you earn both. 

    Rule 4: If you think your teacher is tough, wait till you get a boss. 

    Rule 5: Flipping burgers is not beneath your dignity. Your Grandparents had a different word for burger flipping: they called it opportunity. 

    Rule 6: If you mess up, it's not your parents' fault, so don't whine about your mistakes, learn from them. 

    Rule 7: Before you were born, your parents weren't as boring as they are now. They got that way from paying your bills, cleaning your clothes and listening to you talk about how cool you thought you were. So before you save the rain forest from the parasites of your parent's generation, try delousing the closet in your own room. 

    Rule 8: Your school may have done away with winners and losers, but life HAS NOT. In some schools, they have abolished failing grades and they'll give you as MANY TIMES as you want to get the right answer. This doesn't bear the slightest resemblance to ANYTHING in real life. 

    Rule 9: Life is not divided into semesters. You don't get summers off and very few employers are interested in helping you FIND YOURSELF. Do that on your own time. 

    Rule 10: Television is NOT real life. In real life people actually have to leave the coffee shop and go to jobs. 

    Rule 11: Be nice to nerds. Chances are you'll end up working for one.

     

    Bill Gates spoke before a group of high school students and gave them his eleven rules of life.
     
    This is not from Bill Gates.  It's an excerpt from the book "Dumbing Down our Kids" by educator Charles Sykes.  It is a list of eleven things you did not learn in school and directed at high school and college grads.